Unplanned Phone Detox

It’s been a little over 2 days since my phone decided to take a quick dive in to my coffee and has been in ICU (aka a bag of rice) ever since.. I’m not sure if it will make it through but i have hope, only because I don’t want to have to pay for a replacement. But during the last 48 hours, I’ve decided to really embrace the simplicity and minimalistic side of this “tragedy”.

The first 24 hours was rough, the first 12 was almost agonizing. I actually felt anger and frustration knowing I couldn’t easily pick up my phone to check my social media, text/call someone, or take a picture quickly (I can’t make my daughter repeat her cuteness). The more angry I became, the more aware I was of how dependent I am on something so materialistic.

That’s when I chose to make this a learning experience instead of pouting in the corner. I’m reteaching myself how to eliminate useless distractions and really focus on the task, or moment, at hand. To reduce all the mind clutter and to truly embrace this unplanned detox that I didn’t know I so desperately needed.

The first day, once I overcame my withdraws, I began to appreciate the freedom from my phone. I wasn’t constantly pulling up my lock screen to see if I had any kind of notification. I was able to get more done around the house because I wasn’t wasting time scrolling through social media and I soaked up so much more quality time with my daughter and husband because I could give them my full undivided attention with no need to look for my phone “just in case”. What I’m truly guilty of is indulging myself in my phone while nursing my daughter, and the day I had no choice but to take in the moment, I realized how much she’s growing and I take sweet moments like this for granted because she won’t be a baby forever.

I’ve also rekindled my love of taking pictures with my actual camera. I haven’t touched it in what seems like years until now because I’ve never felt the need since I had one conveniently at all times. And don’t get me started on how many times I’ve put off replacing the batteries in the living room clock. How did my phone dictate what I did with things around me?

Night time is usually when I’m on it the most so I wasn’t sure how well it would go but I had the BEST nights sleep. I went to bed early and had no problem falling asleep. This never happens. Ever. I’ll lay there, tossing and turning, knowing I have this hand held escape from restlessness in arms length and I ALWAYS grab it. This is when I realized I didn’t have a problem falling asleep, it was my phone that was the problem. Avoiding my phone while laying in bed will be something I’ll strive for in the future.

The second day was much smoother. My phone was out of sight, out of mind.

Although I can access social media and text those with iMessaging on my computer, I was greatly limited with it. Not only is it less mobile and more of a hassle than a phone, I also can’t do it in peace. I have a little monkey constantly pulling at my arms trying to get her hands on my keyboard. So I decided it wasn’t worth it unless she’s napping, which is me-time anyways.

I’m not sure how long I’ll go till I give in and get a new phone. I’m surprisingly enjoying being “disconnected” from a plethora of useless information. My mind feels less cluttered and I have more time to do things that truly benefits my life and happiness. As soon as I do have a phone back in my life, my time spent on it will be far less that it used to be. Because life is so much sweeter when I do.

Leave a Reply

